Lemon/Mustard Chicken with Green Noodles and Glazed Carrots – Fun and Tastey!

IMG_3039Thought I was having Gracie (my 4-year-old granddaughter) come spend the night, but she was under the weather.  Whaaa.  So, guess I’ll have to make regular dinner.  I had planned on pizza or a “stick” dinner (fish sticks), however a short walk to the freezer will clue me in on tonight’s experiment.  Looks like chicken.  So let’s see what I can do.

I saw a cooking show that Anne B. did on lemon/mustard chicken, so I guess I’ll mix it up!  ha  Also, I was watching “The Chew” the other day, and they had a really cool lady on who had made healthy green mac and cheese!  So, let’s get started.  Then, needing another side, I looked up carrots (because obviously I have carrots in the frig) and found and interesting recipe from Alton Brown on the Foodnetwork.com website.  Here’s how I’m working this one …

IMG_3026Chicken Ingredients:  Dijon mustard (about a cup), 2-4 Meyer lemons (I used regular lemons, but am a real fan of the Meyer lemon), 1 whole chicken (cut up), fresh rosemary (chopped), crushed red pepper (to taste), olive oil and salt.

 

IMG_3031Green Noodles Ingredients:  Egg noodles (half a package), a bunch of fresh spinach, 1 shallot, 1 clove garlic, salt, olive oil, a 1/4 c of heavy cream and store-bought alfredo sauce.  Peas or broccoli optional, if you really want to “go green.”

IMG_3028Glazed Carrots Ingredients:  1 pound carrots (approximately 7 medium, peeled and cut on the bias 1/4-inch thick), 2 TBS butter, pinch of salt, 1 cup good-quality ginger ale, 1/2 tsp chili powder (I used a Cajun spice I put together recently), 1 TBS chopped fresh parsley leaves.

IMG_3033Chicken Directions:  First, I pulled together the marinade for the chicken.  Then, I cut up the chicken and salt (halved – you could of course use already cut up pieces of your preference).  Brush the marinade on the skin side and let set for 2 hours or so (I refrigerate, and then set out about 30 minutes before time to grill).  Time to grill.  First, skin side down; making nice grill marks.  Then changing directions to show off (10 and 2 o’clock).  Brush underside with marinade.  Turn chicken, and shut grill cover, as necessary to finish.  Make sure you cook to 165 degrees.  If you need to, can finish cooking in 375 degree oven.  Let rest before serving.

IMG_3025IMG_3027IMG_3030Green Noodle Directions:  This is really cool.  I love the idea of making something healthy out of something tasty.  I cleaned and cooked the fresh spinach in shallot and garlic with a pinch of salt.  I cooked down until all the water was remove and the spinach was wilted.  Next, put 1/4-1/2 cup cream in blender with the spinach and blend.  Cook noodles in salted water.  Blanch or microwave peas/broccoli if you choose.  Pour jarred alfredo sauce into pan.  Add green spinach/cream mixture and combine.  Add veggies.  Bring to temperature and ready to add noodles.  Yum and good for you.

IMG_3032IMG_3034Glazed Carrots Directions:  Over medium heat, combine carrots, butter, sale and ginger ale.  Cover and bring to a simmer.  Once simmering, remove the lid, stir and reduce the heat to low.  Cover again and cook for 5 minutes.  Remove the lid, add the chili powder and increase the heat to high.  Cook, tossing occasionally, until the ginger ale is reduced to a glaze, approximately 4-5 minutes.  Sprinkle with parsley and serve.

Food for Thought ?