Let’s get Pickled!

Apparently, I have spring fever.  Gary and I have planted a few tomatoes, peppers and herbs.  This always inspires me to do some pickling.

"Dill" Pickling

“Dill” Pickling

So, I got out my d.i.y.cookbook and strolled through the pickling pages.  Must have got inspired, as I put up dilly beans, giardinier (cauliflower, carrots, celery, red bell pepper, serrano chilies and garlic), preserved lemons and marinated artichokes!  Nuts, huh?  The beans and giardinier turned out very well.  Next time I’ll add more peppers and less dill to the recipe.  We like it hot and spicy.  The artichokes were a pain to do, but wow…what rewards.  They taste fabulous.

(Don’t start that project unless you have a day to work in the kitchen.)   The lemons take 6-8 weeks to cure, so I haven’t tasted them yet.  Can’t wait.  I would suggest before starting a project like this, go to the nearest farmers market.  Dill is very expensive in the grocery store, much better deals at the market on herbs and veggies.  I would also pick up a good bottle of wine, or beverage of choice, you’ll be in the kitchen a while!  Have fun.

One response to “Let’s get Pickled!

  1. Julie Matthews

    I used some of your preserved lemons to cook a turkey over the weekend and they worked great! I cut about 6 slits in the top of the turkey and stuffed a slice of the preserved lemon down into each opening – (I didn’t add any additional salt to the bird since the lemons are already salty,and the lemons actually added the perfect amount of salt to the meat)-they gave the meat a GREAT flavor!

Food for Thought ?